Add or remove a bid adjustment (2024)

Bid adjustments allow you to show your ads more or less frequently based on where, when, and how people search. If you are using the newer Google Ads experience, you can also adjust bids for certain ad interactions, such as calls to your business. This article shows you how to add or remove bid adjustments on both the Search Network and the Display Network.

Before you begin

Note that not all bid adjustments are compatible with all campaign types. If you’re not familiar with bid adjustments, read about bid adjustments first.

Instructions

Note: The instructions below are part of the new design for the Google Ads user experience. To use the previous design, click the "Appearance" icon, and selectUse previous design. If you're using the previous version of Google Ads, review the Quick reference mapor use the Search bar in the top navigation panel of Google Ads to find the page you’re searching for.

Add or remove a bid adjustment on the Search network

  1. In your Google Ads account, click the Campaigns icon Add or remove a bid adjustment (1).
  2. Clicking Advanced bid adjustmentsopens the Interactions page, where you can set your bid adjustments for calls, audiences, or demographics.
  3. Select the row you’d like to adjust, and click the pencil icon Add or remove a bid adjustment (2) under the “Bid adj.” column. If you want to set bid adjustments for Devices, you also have the option to choose an ad group.
  4. Choose “Increase” or “Decrease” from the drop-down, and enter a percentage. To remove a bid adjustment, delete the value in the field.
  5. Click Save.

Add or remove a bid adjustment on the Display network

  1. In your Google Ads account, click the Campaigns icon Add or remove a bid adjustment (3).
  2. Click Audiences, keywords, and content.
    • To adjust your bids for specific demographic groups, click on the desired group after clicking Demographics and continue from step 3.
    • To adjust your bids for Placements, click on "Manual" and continue from step 3.
  3. Click the campaign or ad group you’d like to change.
  4. Select the row you’d like to adjust and click the pencil icon Add or remove a bid adjustment (4) under the “Bid adj.” column. If you’d like to change multiple rows, click the boxes before clicking the pencil icon.
  5. Choose “Increase” or “Decrease” from the drop-down, and enter a percentage. To remove a bid adjustment, delete the value in the field.
  6. Click Save.

Tip: Exclude your ad from a certain device

You can decrease your bid by 100% (not 0%) to completely exclude your ad from a certain device. For device bid adjustments, note that the ad group bid adjustment won’t be used if the campaign bid for the same device is decreased by 100%. Only Device bid adjustments support a -100% adjustment.

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Add or remove a bid adjustment (2024)

FAQs

How do you add a bid adjustment? ›

Add or remove a bid adjustment on the Search network
  1. In your Google Ads account, click the Campaigns icon . ...
  2. Clicking Advanced bid adjustments opens the Interactions page, where you can set your bid adjustments for calls, audiences, or demographics.
  3. Select the row you'd like to adjust, and click the pencil icon.

What is an example of a bid adjustment? ›

Multiple bid adjustments

For example, a $1 USD bid with a device increase of 900% combined with a location increase of 900% will result in a bid of only $10 USD. The lowest possible bid adjustment when combining multiple bid adjustments is -90%.

Do bid adjustments work with Target CPA? ›

Device bid adjustments

Unlike bid adjustments for manual CPC, your bid adjustments for Target CPA modify the value of your CPA target, rather than the bids themselves. For best performance, you may want to remove your manual CPC bid adjustments when switching to Target CPA.

How do you remove a bid strategy? ›

How to edit your campaign bid strategy
  1. In your Google Ads account, click the Campaigns icon .
  2. Click the Campaigns drop down in the section menu.
  3. Click Campaigns.
  4. Select the campaign you want to edit.
  5. Click Settings in the page menu for this campaign.
  6. Open Bidding and then click Change bid strategy.

What is bid offer adjustment? ›

Bid-offer valuation adjustments are determined from bid-offer prices observed in relevant trading activity and in quotes from other broker-dealers or other knowledgeable counterparties. Where the quoted price for the instrument is already a bid-offer price then no additional bid-offer valuation adjustment is necessary.

How do you set device bid adjustments for ad groups or campaigns? ›

Set device bid adjustments for ad groups or campaigns
  1. In Campaigns or Ad groups, select the campaigns or ad groups that you'd like to modify.
  2. Under "Device bid adjustment" in the edit panel, enter a value for “Desktop”, “Mobile,” and “Tablet” from -90% to +900%, inclusive.

How to calculate bid adjustment? ›

To properly adjust your bids, you first have to figure out what your desktop bid should be without a modifier. Then you need to decrease it and increase your mobile bid by that same amount.

Can a bidder modify his bid? ›

Modification and Withdrawal of Bids. - A bidder may modify his bid, provided that this is done before the deadline for the receipt of bids. The modification shall be submitted in a sealed envelope duly identified as a modification of the original bid and stamped received by the BAC.

What solution allows your bid to be automatically adjusted while keeping? ›

ECPC works by automatically adjusting your manual bids for clicks that seem more or less likely to lead to a sale or conversion on your website.

Do bid adjustments work with maximize clicks? ›

Note: – Maximize clicks is the only automated bidding strategy that works with ad scheduling bid adjustments. Remarketing lists for search ads (RLSA): -90% to +900% (campaign and ad group level). Call adjustments/Interactions: -90% to +900% (campaign level).

When should you use a target CPA bidding strategy? ›

If your main advertising goal is getting conversions (like sales, signups or mobile app downloads), then Target CPA bidding can help get more conversions for your budget.

What is an example of a target CPA? ›

For example, if an advertiser's AOV is $100 and they set their target CPA at 10%, their target CPA would be $10. This means that they are willing to pay up to $10 for each action taken on their website, such as a purchase. The target CPA is used as a bidding strategy by the advertiser's PPC account.

Is there a way to remove a bid? ›

If the listing ends in under 12 hours, you can retract your most recent bid, but only if it's been less than an hour since you placed it. If you are outside that time frame, your best bet is to communicate directly with the seller and persuade them to cancel your bid at their end.

How do I change my bid strategy? ›

Here's how to edit your campaign bid strategy in the app:
  1. Sign in to your Google Ads account.
  2. Navigate to the Campaigns page and select the campaign you'd like to edit.
  3. Tap the gear icon. ...
  4. Tap on your current bid strategy under the Bidding section.
  5. Follow the prompts on screen to select your bidding strategy.
  6. Tap Save.

Can a seller remove your bid? ›

As a seller, you can cancel bids on eBay in some situations: when you agree to a buyer's request, when the item isn't available anymore, if you made an error in the listing, or if you're concerned the bidder might be fraudulent.

What is a bid modifier? ›

Bid modifiers let you adjust bids for a specific criterion without changing the targeting of your campaign or ad group. For example, an ad group bid modifier for mobile devices doesn't exclude impressions for other types of devices, but it does let you raise or lower your bids for mobile impressions.

How many bidding adjustment options do we get while creating a campaign? ›

Bid adjustments for any ad group-level targeting methods can be set from -90% to +900%. You can set bid adjustments at the campaign level (for times, days, and locations), and at the ad group level for individual targeting methods.

What solution allows your bid to be automatically adjusted while keeping your average CPC? ›

Enhanced cost-per-click (ECPC) helps you get more conversions from manual bidding. ECPC works by automatically adjusting your manual bids for clicks that seem more or less likely to lead to a sale or conversion on your website.

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